Wings, Sauce, & Dairy Free Ranch

Dairy, Nut, Egg, Gluten, Grain, Soy & Refined Sugar Free!

20131005-212455.jpg

Hey hey! It’s another football day;) I have been desperately craving some BWW’s since the beginning of the season, so I finally broke down and ordered some top notch wings from my online meat place. Then I found this AMAZING paleo BBQ sauce recipe, gave it my own little twist, and also concocted my own version of {dairy free} ranch. Let me tell ya’.. it sure made the complete allergy-free, paleo game day package!

After searching through almost 50 paleo BBQ sauces on the web I was thrilled when I came across this one. It seemed the most promising and was already allergy free. All I had to do was ensure the ingredients I was cooking with were allergy free and give it a whirl…

20130922-140821.jpg

Wing Rub & Sauce

Rub Ingredients:
(I halved her recipe and had enough to cover my wings. So you can make this and save half or load your wings up! )

2 tsp paprika 1 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp garlic salt
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp black pepper

Sauce Ingredients:
(Makes enough for two batches! Yay, for leftovers! This sauce was great on burgers too! )

2 Tbsp coconut oil
1 large onion partially pureed
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 cups tomato sauce
1T tomato paste
1/2 cup honey
1/4 cup liquid coconut aminos
1/2 teaspoon paprika
20-30 drops Franks Red Hot tabasco sauce
2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

Sauce Instructions:

Heat oil over medium in a medium sized sauce pan. Add pureed onion and let cook until onion starts to brown (about 7 minutes). Be sure to stir often so you don’t burn them.

Add garlic and stir for an addition minute.

Add the remainder of your ingredients and bring to a boil. Once the sauce has come to a boil immediately turn heat down and let simmer until you have a thick, sauce consistency.

Remove from heat, eat, or store for later.

Wing Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350

Take about 2-2.5 lbs thawed wings – mine didn’t come jointed but I did it for funsies ;)-  and boil them for about 8 minutes. After they finish boiling, lay them out to dry either on a cooling/drying rack or a bunch of paper towels. Mine dried for about 20 minutes while I was working on the sauce and dry rub. Once your oven is preheated cover your wings in the dry rub and place neatly on a baking sheet, trying not to overlap. Bake for 30 minutes, turning half way through.  Once the wings have reached your desired level of crispiness take them out of the oven and toss them in your BBQ sauce! Dip in homemade allergy-free paleo ranch and enjoy with some celery sticks!

20131005-212521.jpg

Allergy-Free Paleo Ranch Dip

1 avocado
1/3 cup + 2 Tbl orgnic coconut cream
1T + 1/4t ranch seasoning

Combine all into a blender. Blend and serve as ranch!

Overall, I was really pleased with how the sauce came out and super excited that I was able to prepare a ranch dip so tasty! I know the feeling of wanting to make super healthy food taste as great as the food you remember indulging in, and these did more than hit the spot!! I was also kind of nervous about feeding the sauce to Blake -because he is just a toddler and it did have Franks Red Hot in it- but it is allergy free…. and he absolutely loved it!

— Update to post: I was out of avocado one day and added this to full fat coconut milk, and it was great! A little runnier than I like but great for a salad!

What's on your mind?

