Paleo Meatloaf and Gravy

No Gluten, Grains, Dairy, Eggs, Nuts, Soy or Refined Sugar!

20131006-143712.jpg

Growing up when Mama made meatloaf it had an egg in it as a binder. So, trying to make a meatloaf when we had to cut out eggs was a hassle. Always came out hard and mega greasy.. at the same time… how does that happen, right?! 🙂

Well, I think a magical kitchen fairy came and sprinkled me with some “skill dust” because I managed to come into my kitchen and prepare a meatloaf that far exceeded any of my expectations. I can’t get all snooty and say I have the best meatloaf out there, but this is one tasty eggless loaf.  It has a very nice texture too! Yes, there was still juices left over like before, but this time I didn’t fret. I made an amazing gravy to go along with the dinner. And because I  was cooking with good quality beef, the gravy was not something to run and hide from. It’s filled with tons of good fat, yummy broth, and a delicious protein packed flour!

20130917-210017.jpg

Thanks for stopping by my blog and showing some respect to my recipes:) Feel free to leave a comment or two, and maybe even tell me about a time you had a magical kitchen fairy visit you and what yumminess you prepared because of it!

20131006-143659.jpg
Paleo Allergy-Free Meatloaf
Serves 4
1 lb grass-fed beef (I used 75% lean so I had juices left for gravy)
2 T coconut flour
1/4 c tomato sauce + 2 T for topping
1/2 t pure maple syrup
1 T ground flax seed + 3 T coconut milk
1/2 small onion- chopped
1/4 t oregano
1/4 t basil
1/4t garlic powder
1/4t thyme
Instructions:
preheat oven to 350

Mix your flax meal and coconut milk and set aside for 5 min.
Mix your beef, onion, tomato sauce (1/4c), and spices with your hands
 or a fork.
After flax mixture has set, add it and your coconut flour to your beef
 mixture and form into a loaf.
I cooked mine in a medium-sized loaf pan. I didn't press it in- just
 set your molded loaf intothe pan to cook.
Top with the additional 2T tomato sauce. Then drizzle with maple. Rub
 all over top if ya want or leave as is.

Bake for 45 minutes- or until beef is cooked thoroughly. Save juices
 after loaf is done.

Paleo Gravy
Juices from meatloaf - mine rendered about 1/4c fat and 1/4c broth
1 T coconut flour

Instructions:

Heat juices and fat in a small sauce pan over medium high heat- not
 to a boil.
Stir in flour and whisk.
Remove from heat and whisk until all ingredients are combined and
 form gravy.
Pour over loaf or serve in side dish for mashed potatoes.
  • Easy peasy 🙂
What's on your mind?

