An Allergy-Free Paleo Pizza Crust

No Nuts, Eggs, Dairy, Soy, Gluten, Grains or Refined Sugar!

20131006-143821.jpg

Now that we have gotten the O.K. to incorporate coconut flour into our allergy-free/paleo lifestyle… (YES!!)… I have been having all sorts of fun in the kitchen! Including this allergy-free paleo pizza crust!

I have avoided trying any of the veggie based pizza crusts that I saw floating around the web because I was honestly not sure about how well they would hold up, and several of them also used many ingredients that we just don’t cook with. This one held together pretty well and is more protein packed so it also fills you up!

This dough is easy to press out! Unfortunately, that means you wont be tossing any lovely lumps of dough into the air like some master pizza chef.

Always see the bright side of things…

We have yet to come up with any healthy “cheese” replacers, but I found adding some shredded & sautéed zucchini on top of a tomato based sauce tastes great and would probably be a little less bloating 😉

20131006-143756.jpg

 

Allergy Free Paleo Pizza Crust

Ingredients:20130915-200508.jpg

1/4 cup + 2 T coconut flour
3 T ground flax seed
1/4 cup coconut oil
9 T warm water
1 t maple/honey
1 t baking powder
1/2 t garlic powder
1/8 t sea salt

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 and cover pan with parchment paper

Combine flax seeds with warm water and set aside for 5 minutes.
Whisk together coconut flour, baking powder, garlic & salt
in an electric mixer using the paddle (not the bread hook).
In a separate bowl combine coconut oil and maple. 
Then add flax goop.
With mixer on medium speed, pour your wet ingredients into 
dry and let form a dough.
Place dough on parchment paper prepared pan and shape into a   
pizza crust- one large, two medium, or 4 small-
Bake for 20 minutes. Add toppings and bake for another 10 
minutes.Enjoy!
15 thoughts on “An Allergy-Free Paleo Pizza Crust

  1. Could I make this without the honey/maple? I am doing the 21 day sugar detox and that is on the “no list”…do you think the crust would hold up and still taste okay without it? Thanks! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Allergy-Free Paleo Pizza | Peace of Mind Paleo

  3. Dumb question… I absolutely hate coconut, but have noticed that most recipes have coconut oil or flour as an ingredient. Would I be able to notice coconut flavor in these recipes? I’m hoping the coconut flavor isn’t noticeable after foods have been prepared. Yes, I’m weird! LOL

    • I never liked coconut before. When I switched to only using coconut oil my taste changed and now I can do coconut flour and milk too! I am a big texture person so I still have yet to do the flakes, but when I use coconut stuff in my recipe the flavor is not overwhelming. If anything it adds a little sweetness to things. And when I sauté veggies with it, it does give them a different taste… But in a good way! As far as for the coconut flour- I haven’t noticed a coconut taste to too much. You only use a little bit because it absorbs so much liquid and can easily be masked with other flavors (like vanilla)! I hope I helped a little with your reluctance to it. It is by far a healthier alternative and my top pick of flour!

  4. Pingback: Allergy-Free Paleo Pizza | HealthyAllergyNut

What's on your mind?

