Hash-tags & Sweet Potato Bites

Gluten, Dairy, Nut, Egg, Soy and Refined Sugar Free!

20131006-143852.jpg

I think I am the only one left on the planet that has yet to catch on to the hash-tag thing. My reasoning, at first was because it was a “Twitter thing” and I don’t have a twitter account… but now even my fellow Facebook friends are dropping hash-tags left and right, and I still have yet to jump on the bandwagon. I think I tried it once, but I just couldn’t keep with it. However, I can see how most would conform to such an addicting and easy way of getting their point across without actually having to type a complete thought.

With that said, todays post is Bacon Wrapped Sweet Potato Bites! Woah- what a long recipe title! These funky little suckers are an amazing finger food to serve at your next friendly function:) They are very easy to make and guaranteed to please– I mean, who doesn’t like bacon?

#AllergyFree #Paleo #EatBaconAndGetSkinny #GameDayTreats #Appetizer #Bacon #ShareMyBlog #Whaaaat? #Thanks

20130911-122522.jpg

Sweet Potato Bites

2 large sweet potatoes
1 pack of nitrate/nitrite free bacon
Pure Maple - optional
Cinnamon - optional 

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 375

Wash, peel and half potato.
Lay potato on flat side and cut into bite size pieces-
 --3 times across both ways
 --try to get your pieces about 2 inches long and 1/2 inch wide
Keep bacon together and cut right across the middle - so you have
double the pieces.
Sprinkle potatoes with cinnamon.
Wrap potato bites with bacon and place end side down on
a baking sheet lined with aluminum.  
--If you have more sweet potato pieces than bacon pieces it's ok!
Just rub some coconut oil on them and sprinkle with cinnamon, then
bake with the others.

Bake for 25 minutes flipping half way through
Hint- They are done when the sweet potatoes are easily 
pierced with a fork

After baking drizzle/brush a very small amount of
maple syrup over their tops- I usually skip this step
unless I have company. I love the flavor with out the 
added sweetness!
2 thoughts on “Hash-tags & Sweet Potato Bites

What's on your mind?

