Seasoned “Butter” Recipe

Gluten, Grain, Nut, Egg, Dairy, Soy, & Refined Sugar Free!

20130910-140309.jpg

I don’t even know how to start this blog post out. I could tell you about all the stresses and strains I deal with trying to come up with delicious food that is both allergy free and nutritious, but that is not really what you want to hear is it? What most people want is a simple solution. Besides, if you are looking at this blog, you probably have stresses of your own trying to incorporate a healthier way of eating into your lifestyle and even more if you are working around food allergies too. So let me spare you all that talk and just give you this simple solution to my butter replacer.

This works in savory recipes only! {So it isn’t a good butter replacer for your sweet baked goods.} It will comfort all those Italian cravings you may have, for sure!

My first thought when this recipe came to mind was how cute it would photograph if done the right way (Do I even have that talent?) but then I was just blown away by the flavor and how versatile it is. I can almost guarantee that I will not go a single day with out this in my fridge! So needless to say, I am very eager to share this with you and hear what you think!!

Let me go through the list of what I have used this spread for since making it – just yesterday!!!
A dipping sauce for flat bread
To flavor my homemade pizza crust sauce
On roasted chicken
On roasted broccoli

And then here a few things I can’t wait to use it in:
Mashed or roasted potatoes
Cauliflower recipes
Pork stuffing
Spaghetti squash

…and much much more!!

Anyways, not to get all long winded (even more than I have)… I will just finish by saying I hope you like this and please please leave some feedback if you try it out. Let me know what fun recipes you made with this incredible spread!

20130910-140834.jpg

Seasoned "Butter"

Butter dish -or shallow dish/rameken 
Parchment paper

1/2 cup cold pressed coconut oil
2 sprigs fresh rosemary
1 t garlic powder
1 t minced garlic * optional
1 t sea salt
1 t ground black pepper
1 t oregano
1 t basil
1 t parsley
1 t crushed red pepper flakes

Instructions:
In a small sauce pan heat coconut oil over low.
Once completely melted turn heat off and leave pot on burner.
Add Rosemary sprigs and dry spices. Stir.
Let sit over over warm burner for 15 minutes.
Remove rosemary sprigs. -If you would rather have a smooth spread drain
with a sieve or small colander but I recommend leaving all those spices in
the "butter"
Place parchment paper in dish and smooth down.
Pour seasoned oil into lined dish- Be careful not to burn yourself!
Let chill in fridge until hardened - mine took over an hour.

20130910-140301.jpgStorage: I tried storing mine in the fridge but with how often I am using it, the consistency was too hard and not convenient for me at all. I am now leaving it on the counter in a cooler area in my kitchen (because coconut oil will melt when introduced to heat) so that it stays soft but remains a solid.


		
5 thoughts on “Seasoned “Butter” Recipe

  1. Pingback: Allergy-Free Paleo Pizza | HealthyAllergyNut

What's on your mind?

