Chocolate Zucchini Muffins/Cupcakes

Gluten, Dairy, Egg, Nut, Soy & Refined Sugar Free!

These muffins/cakes are an absolute neighbor pleaser!! Ha! No… really! My neighbor nearly licked her plate clean when I asked her to be my tester for this beautiful batch! I was so thrilled because I made these after a major recipe fail in the test kitchen just one day before. So i kinda needed the win!

20130905-152637.jpg

Don’t judge the frosting! It has a coconut oil base and melted on my not completely cooled muffin!

I do have a few tips and tidbits that I want to share regarding these muffins:

  • I read from another great bakers webpage that you should use your GF flours at room temp to get the best rise. I agree! I let mine sit out on the counter while I prepped and readied the kitchen for cook-off!
  • Carob Powder vs. Cocoa Powder: Now generally I am reaching for the cocoa powder but today I used the carob. I wanted that same chocolate goodness but without the caffeine. Can I just say… YUM! It added a spice to the cake that the cocoa powder didn’t, and brought out the cinnamon flavors even more! I highly recommend using it but if cocoa is your cup of tea it can easily replace it.
  • Let’s take a minute to get proper… Don’t forget when measuring your choco powder of choice you do so by spooning it in to your cup and then leveling it off with a flat edge.
  • It is your choice if you want to peel your zucchini first. I chose not to and it did great! Just be sure to thoroughly wash that sucker first!
securedownload

No frosting necessary!

Chocolate Zucchini Muffins/Cupcakes
Makes 9 cupcakes

1 1/4 c grated zucchini 
1 c gluten-free brown rice flour
1/2 c carob powder - or cocoa powder
1 t baking soda
1/4 t baking powder
1/4 t sea salt
1/2 t ground cinnamon 
1/2 c coconut oil
1/2 c organic honey minus 1 T
1/4 c organic applesauce
1 T white distilled vinegar
1 t vanilla extract
1/2 c Enjoy Life chocolate chips

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350

Wash and remove ends from one medium-sized zucchini. Shred into a
bowl. Using a paper towel squeeze out any excess moisture- Those 
are some surprisingly sweaty little buggers!

Whisk together flour, carob/cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder,
salt and cinnamon in a bowl. Set aside.

In a mixer add melted coconut oil, honey, applesauce, vinegar and 
vanilla. Mix on medium speed until just combined. Add zucchini and
mix on low.

Slowly pour dry ingredients into wet and let the mixer do its work!
Scrape sides down once to make sure all ingredients are incorporated.
Then pour in chocolate chips and let fold in on low.

Immediately scoop batter into muffin pan- I used a 1/4 cup and it 
did great- and bake for 25-35 minutes (depending on your oven). 
Tip to check if your muffins are done: Place a small amount of 
pressure on center of cake with your finger and if it bounces 
back, it's done!  Let cool before trying to remove from pan- 
about 30 minutes.

What kind of frosting would you rather spread on these? Chocolate “Peanut-butter” or Spiced Chocolate?

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Zucchini Muffins/Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: The Perfect Chocolate Cake | Giraffes Can Bake

What's on your mind?

