Chocolate Spice Pudding/Frosting

Gluten, Grain, Dairy, Egg, Nut, Soy & Refined Sugar Free!

20130908-195651.jpg

Okay, so despite this recipes mixed reviews from the hubs- I think it’s a texture thing– I am posting because I think it is amazing!! Initially I wanted to try my hand at making a frosting that was not coconut oil based for two reasons: One- the coconut oil frosting tends to melt super fast and I am not a huge fan of the trouble it causes on a warm cupcake! Two- if you can’t tolerate coconut oil you need another option, right?!

Well, making something sweet with an avocado may sound a little crazy but its light flavor combined with its amazingly sturdy texture makes for a great base to build a recipe around! After making my chocolate zucchini muffins, I found that carob powder has a bit of a spice taste to it that mixes very well with sweets {Duh!…says all my vegan friends.} and it hit my taste buds just right which inspired me to make a carob powder, avocado based frosting. Luckily the texture of this is something like a pudding frosting and can be eaten either way! This frosting is very rich and creamy and to me… a TOTAL fix for any chocolate craving! Luckily it is also healthy.. or else I may be in trouble 😉

20130908-200821.jpg

If you dare try this one out please leave me some feedback! Let me know if you prefer this better as a frosting or a pudding. And feel free to play with the recipe to better suit your taste buds, but don’t forget to share your recipe in the comment box below!

xoxo

Jenn

Chocolate Spice Pudding/Frosting

1 ripe avocado
1 t cinnamon
1/8 c carob/cocoa powder
2 T maple syrup
1/4 t vanilla extract
1 t honey
dash of salt

Rinse avocado well. Cut from stem to stem and remove pit.
Spoon out avocado meat.
Whip all ingredients in a blender or stand mixer until fluffy! 
Serve as pudding or as a frosting!
3 thoughts on “Chocolate Spice Pudding/Frosting

What's on your mind?

