Blueberry Banana Pancakes

20130718-084125.jpg

Yay!!! A homemade pancake recipe that is healthy and allergy freeeeeeeee!!!!!! –My thoughts exactly when I made these and they turned out edible! It is hard to find a good recipe when allergies are at play and lately I have been craving a big stack of pancakes like its nobodies business! Blake loves them too (of course). Although, these are not as fluffy as one might want a pancake to be… lets get real… that is a hard thing to accomplish when eggs are out of the question. And when you are craving something you thought you wouldn’t be able to eat or feed your child..well..any pancake recipe is worth a try, right?! On the plus side I will also add that these are way healthier than IHop stacks and if I feed them to my child he wont fall over with an allergic reaction.

I am still working on several variations of the grand ol’ flap jack and when I have made another to my liking I will be sure to post! Thanks for stopping by and please share any comments or questions below.

20130718-084135.jpg

Blueberry Banana Pancakes

1 1/2 c gluten-free oat flour (I made my own by milling our oatmeal)

1 1/2 c water -Or- oat milk

1 large banana

3T water

1T ground flaxseed

1T baking powder

1t vanilla

1t cinnamon

1 cup blueberries

Instructions:

-blend banana and water until pureed

-mix in the rest of the ingredients – except blueberries

-let sit for 5-10 minutes

-cook over a medium heat pan– below are a few helpful tips–

  • pour mix as usual
  • before flipping add a few blueberries
  • flip after you see the sides start to brown
  • if your spatula doesn’t slide under easily it is not ready
  • these take longer to cook than regular pancakes

-drizzle with 100% pure maple syrup, or top with more bananas and blueberries

-ENJOY!

What's on your mind?

