A N.C. Inspired Paleo BBQ Sauce

BBQ Shredded Chicken

BBQ Shredded Chicken

A North Carolina inspired BBQ sauce:

We wanted something a little different to jazz things up so I decided to play around with trying to make some BBQ sauce. This is a hard one to share because so many people are picky about their BBQ sauce and I am far from an expert! I gave it a try though, and both the hubs and the tiny tot loved it so for me… it’s a win! It has a sweet {from the coconut} and tangy {from the vinegar} taste to it. The original recipe I made needed a little more water in the end {I think} so without making it again I just added more water to this recipe and if it needs more {depending on the texture you are looking for} then by all means add it in!! Although many N.C. BBQ sauces are pretty runny and this one is a little thicker, it still offers that tangy vinegar taste! I have always been a fan of thicker sauces so for me..well.. I was pretty pleased! Let me know what ya think in the comment section below {but if you’re not a fan, please go easy on me! TIA!}

20130710-202849.jpg

Ingredients

1 can tomato paste

1 sweet onion pureed {used the baby bullet on this one}

1 clove garlic minced

5T apple cider vinegar

1/4 cup organic coconut palm sugar

3 T coconut oil

2 T honey

3/4 cup water

1/4 t cinnamon

1t smoked paprika

1/2 t pepper

Instructions

-heat oil in pan over medium

-add lightly pureed onion and garlic, stir

-once browned add the remainder of your ingredients

-stir and let simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally

-remove from heat and serve

I stored the rest of mine in a mason jar in the fridge! We had BBQ baked chicken the first night {yum} and on night two we had shredded BBQ chicken!! Now, we even serve it in a ramekin for Blake to dip his meat in and {ta-da} eating his food has become a little more fun {score!}!

What's on your mind?

