Overnight “Cereal”

I ran into a recipe yesterday that blew my mind! For so long, since we have cut out all the allergy foods from our home, I have been craving a nice big bowl of cereal, and even though I know there are “allergy free” cereals and milks out there it just never seem to fit the bill..given our healthy lifestyle. {I think mainly it was the coldness I was craving… especially after having made hot oatmeal just about every way I could think of!} Then a miracle happened. I saw this post on a fellow health nuts page and decided I would give her recipe a shot. Of course, I have my own way of doing things and usually have to change things up a bit when I find a recipe I like in order to make it Blake friendly but this one I didnt have to change too much. Just nixed an ingredient or two that I am not too fond of and viola!

Another plus for this recipe is that its crazy easy and requires just about as much thinking in the morning as making a sugary bowl of cereal… maybe even less!

I hope you enjoy this like I did! Thanks for stopping by!

Jenn

20130701-120939.jpg

Overnight Oats

1/2 dry oats- gluten free

3/4-1 cup water {depending on how much extra “milk” ya like! I did 1 cup.}

1/2 t pure maple syrup

a pinch of cinnamon

1/2 cup berries {I used what I had- Blueberries}

Additional add in options:

Flaxseed

Chia seed

Sliced Banana

Enjoy Life Chocolate chips {for a sweet tooth}

Add all of your ingredients- except your berries- into an air tight container {tupperware with lid, mason jar, casserole dish if making several servings} and let sit in fridge overnight. Wake up and add in your berries, or sliced bananas.

..Now can you see why I fell in love with this? Simple, healthy, allergy free goodness.

20130701-120953.jpg

What's on your mind?

