Sweet Potato Boats

OHhhhh My! These were a HUGE hit for dinner! — I may overuse the exclamation point in this blog … what’s new, right? I feel like I do this often! But I am a pretty happy person so it just better suits my personality! This is how excited I am about this recipe!! — Since my latest purchase of coconut sugar, I have been trying to find any way possible to incorporate it into my cooking. This did it! And did it good!! 🙂 I made several servings thinking that I could have some for lunch the day after and I was so wrong! My family… ok I may have helped a little… ate them all!! I have a feeling I will be missing them come lunch time but it was so worth it!!

20130630-214006.jpg

those boats^

Sweet Potato Boats

Serves: 3-5

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Cook Time: 55 minutes

Ingredients:

cooking oil

3 sweet potatoes

cinnamon

2 pieces of cooked crisp bacon

coconut sugar

Instructions:

-Preheat oven to 375

-wash your sweet potatoes and be sure to peel off any tough spots

-cut boats off the sides of sweet potatoes- to do this i would start by cutting the round edge off one side and turning and repeating until no more boats can be made. {Tip-  Use the remainder of the potato to make sweet potato chips or cube them and cook them into mashed sweet potatoes or throw the cubes onto another baking sheet and bake with the boats.}

-place boats skin side down onto baking sheet

-rub cooking oil over the top facing up

-season with cinnamon

-cook for 45-55 minutes- flip the last ten minutes of cooking

-take out of oven and sprinkle with coconut sugar. {I even threw mine back in the oven to melt the sugar down for about 5 minutes}

-sprinkle with bacon crumbs

-Serve and Enjoy!!

20130630-214013.jpg

He was a happy happy boy!

What's on your mind?

