Spaghetti & Meatballs

-Pasta Night-

Spaghetti Squash and Meatballs

Allergy Free & Clean Eats

20130502-182745.jpg

This is probably one of my favorites! Pasta is a hard dish to replace but spaghetti squash has made the possibilities plenty! I’m not going to get into the nitty-gritty of how to prep and cook your squash in this blog, but if you need to you can check out how here!  It varies from time to time but Blake isn’t always a big fan of the squash. {He is just a toddler.} I think it may be a texture thing! But when it comes to allergies, it is nice to have the option of replacing the “noodle”.  And this just so happens to be a pretty darn healthy one!

I am also going to skip over the homemade sauce recipe and save that for another day { like when I pull out my measuring spoons and stop winging it}.  In a pinch I will grab an organic tomato pasta sauce from our local HFS- being sure to check the label for not just allergens, but for sugar too! Those sauces can have tons of sugar/sweeteners!

My focus on today’s blog is what makes me love this recipe so much! The meatballs! These are good on top of the “pasta” or alone. They make for yummy finger foods at a party, pack great into quick lunches, and I have to admit that they make for an even better midnight snack attack;)

MeatBalls

2 lbs grass-fed ground beef

1 onion, chopped small

3/4 cup mushrooms finely chopped

1/2 t dry oregano

1/2 t dry basil

4 t dried parsley

2 t honey (or 1 t 100% pure maple syrup)

pepper to taste

Instructions:  Preheat oven to 360. These usually fill up two baking sheets so I have them out and ready.

Combine all ingredients into a large mixing bowl. Using your hands {don’t be shy} mix all the ingred.’s  until all the spices are distributed through. Then start making your balls!! Make them about 2 inches thick and try to make them all around the same size so they cook evenly. As I make mine I place them in to rows on the baking sheet I set out. I usually end up with 30-34 meatballs.

Cook for 25 minutes. If your oven has a hot spot be kind to your balls and rotate the baking sheets halfway through cooking! Also allow your meatballs to rest about 5 minutes after cooking to allow the juices to distribute evenly. 

Check out these bad boys!

Check out these bad boys!

I hope this quick and easy recipe makes it onto your dinner table and satisfies your taste buds well! Congrats on keeping your family healthy and free from allergies!

-Jennifer

What's on your mind?

