Dining in with some friends!

Do any of you know of a family with allergies? Have you ever noticed a hesitation when you invite that family over for dinner?

Our family, and I’m sure so many other allergy families, has been in that uncomfortable situation! Torn between wanting to join in on the fun and social gatherings, but scared because you have to look out for anything and everything allergy.

My awareness to how many people really didn’t understand allergies didn’t hit me until I was an allergy mom myself. I was among those who didn’t know a thing about allergies and would have never even thought twice about it. So don’t feel bad or beat yourself up for not stressing about it! Just be aware! And maybe my blog will help in those situations!

That hesitation you may get after inviting someone over is not meant to be offensive… At least not in my mind. That hesitation is more likely that person trying to find a way to tell you about the allergies that they have to avoid and ask if you would be willing to change your entire dinner menu to suit them. That hesitation is more than likely a person afraid to inconvenience you! So do we politely decline…?

There is no way of knowing if a family you have invited over has a food allergy unless you ask. And let’s face it… Unless you have experience in the situation that question isn’t likely to cross your mind! But when you do come across a family who will let you know, it’s always appreciated when you make an effort to let them know that you are aware! And open to talking more about it! Here are a few tips for both parties:

If you are inviting-

Ask what foods to avoid
Ask if they have a favorite meal that they know is safe {who doesn’t like a new recipe?}
Ask them to bring a dish { Either a side or desert, maybe?} – why not make it a group effort!
Ask what they do to prepare allergy free meals and if they have any tips
Finally, reassure them that you will be cautious while making the meal and that you are happy to have them over!

If you are invited-

Don’t feel bad about making it aware that you or your family member have to avoid certain foods
Ask if maybe they would like to do dinner at your house to avoid any inconvenience
Offer to help with the meal {Maybe you can incorporate clean eating too!}
Offer to bring a dish
Offer to bring food from home for the person with allergies- this may help you relax a bit;) and alleviate any stress on the ones who extended the invite
If you use a certain website for allergy free dishes- pass it along
And always keep a stash in your purse/bag for those moments you may need them

These are just some of what I consider to be helpful tips. I hope they help both parties and I want to extend my gratitude to those who don’t have to deal with allergies, but are kind enough to make the effort for a friend:) Thanks for checking me out and thanks even more for following me! Happy Wednesday!

-Jenn

2 thoughts on “Dining in with some friends!

  1. Wow! I can really relate to you. I’m a Food Allergy Mom myself and am trying to navigate my way through this world of Allergens. It’s not easy! Thanks for your kind words. You state important points with a very delicate touch. Nice work!

    • Thank you! I try my best to address the situation from both the knowing and unknowing point of view! Good luck with your sons allergies and thanks for stopping by!

What's on your mind?

