Enchilada Soup

Thanks for your patience everyone! I am new to the blogging thing so it’s taking me a minute to get the ins and outs. Besides, with a 1 year old, my time to post is limited to nap time and bed time;)

Enchilada Goodness!

I did have a few notes to make about this recipe {and several others I may post}. When it comes to cooking — & definitly crockpot recipes– the ingredients are really up to your taste buds! If you don’t like an ingredient and feel like it would better suit you if you change it then by all means, do it! That’s the best thing about cooking! But if you have no idea the first thing about it all then trust me when I tell you that the recipes I post are atleast to my liking and eaten by many! {I hope that means they like ’em too}!

**With this particular recipe I like the chicken to be shredded. So, that means you can either a} boil the chicken and replace the ingredient -water- with your boiled chicken water. If you do this you can omit one of the cans of broth too! or b} cook the sliced up raw chicken in the crockpot with everything else, pull it out after done, and shred. Both are delicious! And I’m sure there are other ways to do it but those are the two I do! This will also change the time your soup should cook but I will be more specific later.

Another tip: ALWAYS RINSE AND DRAIN the beans! No one wants those added sugars!
image

Remember this is allergy friendly so none of that creamy base you may find in some soups! Good thing clean eating doesn’t allow for much dairy anyways! {Two birds,one stone!} OK everybody! Here is the soup I promised!!

Ingredients

3 chicken breasts shredded *see note above*
2 cups water *see note above*
1-2 cans Swanson 100% natural chicken broth
1 c frozen corn
1 green pepper chopped
1 red pepper chopped
1 small red onion chopped
1 can red kidney beans, rinsed & drained
1 can black beans, rinsed & drained
1 can organic roasted stewed tomatoes
1 can red enchilada sauce
1/2 T garlic powder
1/2 T chili powder
A few shakes of cumin

All ingredients go into a large crockpot on high. If chicken was pre cooked then you only cook for 3 hours! {You will be glad you don’t have to wait longer}. If chicken went in raw you will cook for 5 hours. {Tip: if chicken is raw put it in the crockpot last. When it’s on top it will cook faster.}

Don’t forget to buy organic as much as you can!! Get your chicken with no added hormones and no antibiotics! Not many of my recipes will include corn. We are still on the fence in my household about its lack of health benefits but this recipe just isn’t the same without it. I hope this was a hit with your family like it was with mine! Thanks again for stopping by and thanks for following me 🙂

-Jenn

One thought on “Enchilada Soup

What's on your mind?

